The land that is known as Arakan by the foreigners is called Rakhaing-pray by its own people, Rakhaing-thar (Arakanese) who were titled this name in honour of preservation on their national heritage and ethics or morality.

New Zealand Scholarships - Myanmar

Posted by Arakan Indobhasa Sunday, March 8, 2015

The New Zealand Aid Programme offers scholarships to people from developing countries who are motivated to make a difference at home.
For more information about the scholarships programme click here.

Scholarship types and closing dates

Scholarship Type: New Zealand ASEAN Scholarship
Application deadline:  5.00pm 31 July
Ms Sirikarn Thammawijit
Development Programme Administrator
New Zealand Embassy
14th floor, M Thai Tower, All Seasons Place
87 Wireless Road
Bangkok 10500
Telephone: +66 2 254 2530 ext 29
Facsimile: +66 2 253 9045

Qualification types

New Zealand ASEAN Scholarships are available for the following qualifications:
  • Postgraduate Certificate (6 months)
  • Postgraduate Diploma (1 year)
  • Masters Degree (1 – 2 years)
  • PhD (3 – 4 years)

English Language Training

As part of your New Zealand ASEAN Scholarship, you may be eligible to undertake English Language Training in Myanmar prior to taking up your study in New Zealand. Details will be provided to successful applicants.


Candidates must meet all the scholarship eligibility criteria including:
  • Be a minimum of 18 years of age at the time of commencing your scholarship.
  • Be a citizen of the country from which you are applying for a scholarship and have resided in that country for at least the last two years.
  • Agree to return to your home country for a minimum of two years on completion of the scholarship.
For full eligibility details check the eligibility criteria page.


Preference will be given to candidates who demonstrate strong academic ability, leadership qualities, and a commitment to the development of their home country.
Preference is also given to candidates who are 39 years of age or younger at the time of commencing their scholarship.
Preference will be given to candidates who apply to study in academic disciplines relating to one or more of the following:

Agriculture Development:

  • Agri-business management, agricultural economics, agricultural systems and management, rural development, domestic supply chains and distribution
  • Biology, vegetable production, livestock/animal husbandry, crop management, sericulture (silk production), forestry, fisheries, aquaculture, agricultural pest management
  • Phytosanitary, bio-security, biotechnology, agricultural trade
  • Food production, food sciences/technology, post-harvest processing, food storage and packaging, food safety
  • For information about some qualification options click here

Renewable Energy

  • Geothermal, solar, hydro engineering and wind energy, renewable energy distribution systems
  • For information about some qualification options click here

Disaster Risk Management:

  • Disaster response, emergency management
  • Hazard assessment and management, natural resource management, environmental management, geology, geotechnical engineering, water resource management
  • Climate change adaptation, land planning & development
  • For information about some qualification options click here

Public Sector Management: 

  • Public administration, public policy and management, public sector leadership and governance, human resource capacity development, information management
  • Public financial management, government budgeting, tax reform, public sector auditing, statistics, demography, political science, social policy
  • International trade and business, trade facilitation, trade policy
  • For information about some qualification options click here

Private Sector Development:

  • Business/private sector management and leadership, small and medium sized enterprises (SMEs) development, entrepreneurship, marketing, accountancy
  • Value chain development, , logistics & supply chain management,
  • trade facilitation, economics/ applied economics, business finance, commerce, industrial relations
  • Tourism - Ecotourism, tourism management, tourism planning, tourism marketing
  • For information about some qualification options click here

English Language Teaching

  • For information about some qualifiction options click here.

How to apply

  1. Check if you’re eligible. 
  2. If yes, decide the type of institution and qualification that is right for you. For more information about studying in New Zealand visit 
  3. Apply for an Offer of Place (admission) at your preferred New Zealand institution. For most courses you will be able to apply online.  
  4. Once you have a confirmed Offer of Place, download and complete all sections of the New Zealand Scholarship application form
  5. Attach an up to date Curriculum Vitae 
  6. Attach your IELTS or TOEFL certificate, if required (for more information or if you do not have a current IELTS or TOEFL certificate, please refer to FAQs
  7. Write and attach your two 500 word essays (as per the requirements detailed on the application form) and, for masters research and PhD candidates, your research proposal. 
  8. Obtain three references (as per the requirements detailed on the application form) 
  9. Obtain certified copies of all required supporting documentation (as per the requirements detailed on the application form) 
  10. Submit 2 copies of your completed application form, with all attachments and supporting documents (including an Offer of Place) by the deadline specified for the scholarship type you selected and send to the address noted at the top of this page.


Follow Twitter

Ancient Arakan Gold and Sliver Coins

    Translate This Page